Extraordinary

That you placed me at all
is the most extraordinary of things.

For I reside in the neutral
midway between extremes.

I will never feel the splash of eureka
or taste the liquor of pure genius

yet I choose not to wallow
in the doldrums of ignorance’s favour,

still I skirt the rim of desolation
when I feel the hand of normal on my skin

or a very ordinary face staring
back from a perfect reflection.

I see you glide like a butterfly
of heavenly lit hues,

climbing ever higher towards
a divine sense of satisfaction.

I cheer, shout and scream
my support for what I can see,
that which you cannot

and slowly from the chrysalis
a realisation emerges-

you saw my colours
before I learnt to see.

16 responses to “Extraordinary

  1. How come I’ve never read this little corker? Absolute genius you have it Abi, don’t question the gifts you have, enjoy what you have been given and that one who found you x

  2. Of all the poems you have created & made public I think this may well be my favourite. Wonderful opening that captured my whole being & some exquisite lines that lead on to your final stanza … that really blows me away. And from this truly lovely poem are these lines … unforgettable & perfectly put together:

    ‘still I skirt the rim of desolation
    when I feel the hand of normal on my skin’

    Oh yes! Soul-writing I’ll be bound. Incredible stuff Abi šŸ™‚

  3. Superb write!!! The beginning is smooth….”That you placed me at all/ is the most extraordinary of things.” & the imagery powerful “or a very ordinary face staring/
    back from a perfect reflection.” The beauty starts to emerge ” I cheer, shout and scream/ my support for what I can see,/ that which you cannot” and the surprise of climax is saved for “you saw my colours/ before I learnt to see.” Beautiful indeed.

  4. you saw my colors before i learnt to see…smiles…its cool when people do that..and can let you know, encourage you so that one day you too can see yourself for who you are….

  5. This just bowled me over, Abi…a stunner from beginning to end..Glorious…I just love it…I think this is my favorite now…an enviable write.

  6. One great line after another, especially,
    “still I skirt the rim of desolation
    when I feel the hand of normal on my skin”
    and then the ending;
    “you saw my colours
    before I learnt to see.”

    Fantastic!

  7. What an ending! I wonder if everyone feels ordinary, even those who feel the splash of eureka and taste the liquor of pure genius. If you are ordinary then ordinary as I am, I am in good company.

  8. you saw my colours
    before I learnt to see….love this..and with one big bang we’re lifted out of the ordinary…isn’t that awesome

Leave a Reply

