Dark Cherries

Deep luscious cherry flesh
compliments the smooth
yet bitter cut of darkness
biting down to the stone
juices flowing freely now
running over glistening lips
taste explosion on the tongue
appreciatively licking fingertips
divine indulgence touched
a pleasure never to be rushed
reaching inwards once more
pops another cherry passed
the melting cacao kisses.

26 responses to “Dark Cherries

  1. Lovely, dear Abigail. You’ve carried us along on a poetically transcribed mindful bite or two of the summer fruit I just watched my daughter wash and enjoy. ๐Ÿ™‚ xo
    ~ j

  2. Aren’t cherries just the most sensuous of fruits – you’ve captured that so well! Unfortunately, my cherry tree is a bit bare this year… and no, I don’t mean that metaphorically at all!

    • Thanks Marina, I agree very sensuous, particularly with chocolate. Maybe the birds are eating your cherries of the tree? Hope you get a better crop next year ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. *wipes mouth, gulps hard* Ooh! I mean … OOH!!! I could SO taste those cherries! Beautiful, descriptive poem about popping cherries in one’s mouth, along with the ‘melting cacao kisses’ … &, of course, all the accompanying imagery that rises & flows in parallel. Oh! Love Quirina’s response too :)) x

    • Thanks Peter, glad you found it a taste sensation of a poem! Yes, its all in the imagery isn’t it ๐Ÿ™‚ I have been smiling at Q’s comment all day, just loved it ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  4. It’s really time for me to take a cold shower. Great now you can have so much fun with something so seemingly innocent as eating a cherry. That’s popped now for sure ha!

    • LOL oh my lovely Shan, I can rely on you to not pull any punches! But if you need a cold shower, I am not doing too bad. Thank you so much for your comment ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

  5. Yes, Quirina summed this poem up beautifully: “Absolutely delicious words โ€ฆ I could eat the poem.” Great comment, Q, and lovely piece of writing – sorry want to be more superlative, but everyone above has used all the descriptive words up !

  6. Pingback: Darkย Cherries « thebleedingpen

Leave a Reply

