Barefoot

‘No foot, no horse’ they say,
yet as I study my naked soles
I read my own well worn story.
Bared they do not lie but flinch
when pressed into the sharp edges
of life’s gravel strewn path.
Bared they marvel at the feel of silk
soft grass when walking in the sweet
comfort lawns of friendship.
Bared they wander on tiptoe
washed by many a dew teared morn.
Bared they have wrinkled
in the oceans of heartfelt romances.
Bared they persevered sand-cracked
and rubbed raw traversing
the seeming deserts of dismay.
Buried they spent countless days
confined within leather booted
working hours pounding ground
to pay for and enable this existence.
Bereft of these you will surely know me
when I kick off these heels of stance
running in barefoot abandon
to greet you with arms open wide.

(Abi’s Poem) *in more ways than one

10 responses to “Barefoot

  1. LOVELY!!!
    Sorry I yelled, but I found this such a sweet and heartfelt piece! It’s full of sharp images and soft caresses.
    *whispers* Just lovely, Abigail! πŸ˜‰ xo ~ j

  2. Oh yes, yes and yes again, Abi. This is you; this is autobiographically you (I suspect)! It also has such a lovely rhythm about it. And such a heart warming close. Lovely, lovely, lovely (sorry to steal your word, Joe, but you’re right!).

    • Thank you John, as a poem written for me, about me, by me you could say it might have a touch of the autobiographical about it πŸ˜‰
      Thanks again πŸ™‚ xx

  3. Lovely opening to this poem, Abi ~ followed by those lilting revelations as you write ‘barefoot’, sharing your footprints & revealing your true self to us all. And such a powerful ending with just a touch of humour running through it that conjured up a number of images as I read your words: I felt the openness of you, the willingness of you and the joy inside you as you opened up those arms to others … to life. Wonderful write πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much Peter, I always appreciate your thoughtful and lovely comments. This is maybe a spiritually driven poem… It certainly made me smile writing it. Thanks again πŸ™‚ xx

  4. A very lovely Abi poem. What I found very interesting about this poem was how mindful you describe how things are, wherever the feet are … they are on the ground, but how you love to get them off the ground and be on a horse, or to fly … into the arms of the people you love. Q xx

Leave a Reply

