New Moon

Just another night, she breathes a sigh

that brushes Andromeda’s outer edge

polishing the pink of its painted nebula.

 

Under the clouds he waits for an eternity

his heart the mountains beneath his feet

he whistles the wind through forest pines.

 

First a subtle lightening to midnight blue

clouds slowly tearing to reveal her smile

a blinding bright curve, a pure silver sickle.

 

Reaching heavenwards touching her light

he strokes the smooth of her lunar rays

feeling her gravity drawing up the tide.

 

She bathes his silhouette in her beams

caressing his surface into monochrome

melding gradually on each limb and crevice

Softly she enfolds his world.

 

(Louise’s poem – 2012)

36 responses to “New Moon

  1. You are on fire, Mrs Baker! This is the stuff of legends, but it also has an extraordinarily sensuous feel to it. It brings the Gods of our history and the universe alive on the page. Don’t know how else to describe the feeling invoked by this. Whatever it does, it leaves a great impression.

  2. I’m in awe! These images are so delicate yet clearly speaking. Am I allowed to add this to my favourites?

  3. Such a beautiful poem written for a lovely lady by a wonderful poet ~ ‘softly she enfolds his world’ … one of the most moving lines I have ever read ~*

  4. Lovely poem that has one enthralled. As exquisite as moonlit night at Acropolis. Refinement par-excellence!!!

  5. Gosh…*blush* Thank you so much, Abi….this is lovely and I had to catch my breath…Joe is sitting beside me right now as I read it aloud and he’s enjoying it too…Beautiful poem & I feel very honoured. πŸ™‚ xx

  6. Abi, I just made my way here to read your beautiful poem. I had only a vague sense of why you might have written this but the meaning, the emotion are unmistakable. I agree with Peter, β€˜softly she enfolds his world’ is one of the most moving lines I have ever read too. I actually sighed when I read it. Thank you for sharing this as well as for writing it for dear L.

  7. This is truly spectacular, Abigail! I love this poem. The imagery and the metaphor of the astronomical to the sensual is just lovely and this poem definitely captures Louise’s essence very much. πŸ™‚

  8. uuuhhhh nice…you capture the sensuality and magic of the new moon fabulously..love the intimacy…hmmm….and….off-topic…
    you’re def. the first roach fan i ever met…smiles

  9. there is a gentle beauty in that enfolding at the end…really line the metaphor and what you are really saying…this stanza stuck out to me in particular…

    Under the clouds he waits for an eternity

    his heart the mountains beneath his feet

    he whistles the wind through forest pines

    like it much…

  10. this is so lovely, i felt myself falling into it… so many wonderful lines, i especially like polishing the pink of its painted nebula and clouds slowly tearing to reveal her smile… great imagery!

  11. Such a perfect description of a wonder of our world. I can relate to every word, such effortless reading, it flows so well. I really like…….yes, all of this, ” Reaching heavenwards touching her light

    he strokes the smooth of her lunar rays

    feeling her gravity drawing up the tide.” Beautiful!!

  12. Oh my. A sensuous and image-intensive look upon the world. Smooth delivery, softly enthralling…the only other word that comes to mind is simply: beautiful.

  13. Good day I am so happy I found your blog
    page, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching on Yahoo for something else, Regardless I am here now and would
    just like to say many thanks for a marvelous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to browse it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time
    I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the superb job.

Leave a Reply

