Epiphany

Quiet, not like the ticking clock in this waiting room

that reminds me so much of my Grandparents.

This room is dressed in clean shades of cream paint

and subtle matching wallpaper, with its two leather chairs

tastefully off-set from the pine framed glass coffee table,

stood at an interesting angle, holding only a pink newspaper.

Radiators boxed in wood with carved dΓ©cor betray its age,

as does the single flaw within the painted woodwork

to which my eye is drawn. I notice the spreading lines

intricate in their formation, revealing the tree

shaped pattern. Today I see the beauty within the flaw,

I appreciate my difference. I am silence, unseen art,

without the need to be painted calico or ecru to conform.

I am the dusky pink magnolia bloom, catching the morning light.

23 responses to “Epiphany

  1. This is a big poem of a huge moment in time that bled into your essence & allowed you to see your self from an angle that, previously, you never knew existed. I can feel the revelation in your poem, Abi ~ there is an effortless rhythm that repeats ‘this is how it was’ throughout, together with some fabulously descriptive lines, such as ‘Today, I see the beauty within the flaw’ & ‘ I am silence, unseen art.’ A wonderful poem for you to post on International Women’s day … & fourteen lines ~ a poem loaded with that incredible feeling of love & awe that epiphanies tend to generate. Wonderful! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much for such a fantastic comment. I am so glad it works as a poem.

      It was and is ‘huge’ in a way I can only hope to describe in words.

      Thanks again my wonderful friend πŸ™‚

  2. This is fantastic insight!! finding beauty, unseen art in the flaw!! Wow Abi!! Indeed you bloom. The whole read is so much smooth & lyrical that to enjoy it over & over again is natural.

    • Thanks so much for commenting M πŸ™‚

      It was one of those moments when you notice everything, yet it stayed with me afterwards to become this poem.

    • Thank you so much for reading and commenting Q πŸ™‚

      It is the defining line in the poem, I agree. So glad you liked this poem.

      Thanks again xx

  3. Abi, this is another gem. I love the rhythm and flow of it. I get it, well, at least I think I do, on one of its several levels. It’s reflective and so very descriptive. Just perfectly balanced between the depths of your own memory and the imagination that created it and its clarity to a reader, like me, who doesn’t have the benefit of reading your mind. That sounds strange I know, but I know what I mean.

    Whatever I said, this is a great piece of poetry. Super!

    • Thank you so much John πŸ™‚

      It is a description of a real room, written from recent (same day) memory, but it is about how I saw it that is what makes this poem what it is.

      Thanks so much πŸ™‚

  4. I love this, you paint the moment and you know you are different… Today you see the flaw within the beauty …that’s what it’s all about. Nice write.

  5. Very nice work. Your pictures are wonderful, the notion of the artwork within the flaw is very inspired. I especially admire how succinctly you state the case. Your brevity brought great focus to what you said. I enjoyed this.

    • Thank you Steve!

      I really appreciate you taking the time to read and comment πŸ™‚

      The flaw in all its tree shaped beauty was there before me, all I had to do was observe and write it into the poem.

  6. Love the quiet distillation of this, down to those last incredible lines.
    “I appreciate my difference. I am silence, unseen art,” love that.

    • Hi Kelly,

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting. So glad you liked it πŸ™‚

      *blushes pink* that you call any of my lines incredible! Thanks again from your biggest fan πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

      Your welcome, I love writing them and love it even more when other people get pleasure from reading them.

Leave a Reply

