The Beach

In my dream we are walking on
a beach, somewhere we know not.
It is not a sandy vista but covered
with rocks and pebbles littered
below the looming cliffs high above.
You laugh as you see them crumble
they remind you ofย  Robin Hood Bay.
I tell you we shouldn’t be here
that we should never have come,
but you just smile and encourage me
as a father would his small child.
We are looking for the words
hidden within their raw formation.
You say I have a knack for finding
the ones that will shine.
I say that though yours may
seem gnarled and eccentric
they always turn the most heads
shining with an inner depth.
The sun sparkles on the ocean
without time to steal the tide away.
I glance upwards at the crumbling black
but you call me away to investigate
an unusual shade, a little known verb,
a state of pleasure, a little bird hopping
among the stones, catching flies.
We wander back our canvas bags full
of possibilities, lost in our thoughts.
You show me the tumbler we use
to polish away the crud.
I lean into the warmth of your knowledge
waiting for the gems to appear.
They shine in every colour known
and some in ones not yet discovered.
You carefully arrange them with studious
thought and concentration,
while I draw pictures with my fingers
in the ones I sought, the love I found.

34 responses to “The Beach

  1. Lovely Abigail..sounds like you have an inspiring friend/love there, some cool metaphors here..the innocence of the close is gorgeous..K-a

  2. This is an enchanting poem, Abi. Is this falling in love in an ideal way… whilst absorbed in things that you both enjoy? Or some half forgotten memory of childhood enchantment, the sort that can only be found when you in some ‘wild’ place, apparently outside the reach of other humans. Hmm, it conjures up some delightful images for me too.

    It also I have to say has something of which you know I am very partial too… rhythm! It gives it a real flow and continuity and pulls you along as you read.

    You are ‘on it’ right now, AB! Keep ’em coming.

    • Thank you John, I always appreciate your comments ๐Ÿ™‚

      Ideal way to fall in love? No, I could never in any honesty say that.

      It has a childhood memory wrapped up within it, but mostly it is about the feeling… and always the words.

  3. So soothing…I can go on reading and re-reading many, many time. Lovely imagery, apt connect and above all fine rhythm. Wonderful.

  4. Such a beautiful poem, Abi ~ & yes, there is a wonderful, steady flow throughout as each line washes in. This is a lovely style of writing ~ it feels natural, easy & full of enchantment. I love it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you! Your opinion and comments are always most appreciated ๐Ÿ™‚

      I am very pleased you find this one to your liking ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I agree with Peter, a beautiful poem…I very much enjoyed your exploration of the beach and your dream…loved the lines trickling down, and the last two lines ” I draw pictures with my fingers
    in the ones I sought, the love I found” are just lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. smiles…i like this much…i keep my bag ready whenever i find words like this…and def on the polishing…love the gentleness in this and the doing it together…well done

  7. Very nicely done, your verse has such a warm presence to it and a bit of childlike wonder today, things done as one, can be quite fun.

  8. what i love most in this is the learning from each other, the seing what the other doesn’t see and vice versa..we poets do this..inspiring each other and yep…i like

  9. oh, i loved it all the way through, but that ending, just wonderful!
    i felt like i was tumbling down all the way through these words, and those last lines were the perfect, polished gem.

  10. I especially like:
    “We are looking for the words
    hidden within their raw formation.
    You say I have a knack for finding
    the ones that will shine.
    I say that though yours may
    seem gnarled and eccentric
    they always turn the most heads
    shining with an inner depth.”
    Mutual warmth, love, respect, admiration, deep and abiding fondness all wrapped up in this piece, just lovely.

  11. Beautiful, Abi! I especially like “I lean into the warmth of your knowledge” ..the writing of this poem seemed especially effortless. Brava!

  12. A lovely read, and the person who walked with you, explored words and worlds with you, must be very special indeed.

Leave a Reply

