Jigsaw

You were staring down an ancient tree
the day I tripped over your name.

A sudden flurry of comprehension

and there we were, drinking tea leaves
from floral china platitudes.

Words washed in a thicket of twittering
soul feathers all crying for attention.

You found mine, a piece of jigsaw
lost without ever being missed.

I sheltered under this umbrella
drying my softness from the unfelt rain

wiping smudges of cold desolation,
cheap lipstick marks on coffee cup edges –

then you smiled as I stopped talking
and started to write them all down.

 

Entered for Open Link Night atΒ  http://dversepoets.com/ on 07/02/12

21 responses to “Jigsaw

  1. I love this one Abi ~ some really ‘big’ lines but none better than ‘Words washed in a thicket of twittering’. And I get a huge sense of enduring friendship from your poem &, also, the beginning of an important journey. Lovely write πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Peter, your comments are always appreciated πŸ™‚

      I shall have to re-read my words to see the journey within.

  2. I agree with Peter, a lovely write…”You found mine, a peice of jigsaw
    lost without ever being missed.” ~ these lines really resonate for me …:)

    • Thank you Louise! πŸ™‚

      It is always lovely to hear lines resonate with the reader, but even more so when said person is such a word weaver herself.

  3. Beautifully wrapped in words : ) I think I can feel it.
    “I sheltered under this umbrella / drying my softness from the unfelt rain” is most lovely.

    • Thank you Martin πŸ™‚

      You have always been kind in reading & commenting on my poetry.

      Glad you like this one, its a some what special one to me.

  4. Goodness, this is soooo beautiful!! The begining drew me in right away…

    ‘You were staring down an ancient tree
    the day I tripped over your name.’

    Lovely : )
    -Eva

  5. Beautiful poem, Abigail. I wonder what all those words were that the person wrote down. They must be fascinating if they are about you, from you.

  6. A lot of wonderful lines here–I like the floral china platitudes the best I think. Know those kinds of cups. K.

  7. lots of wonderful lines and images…my fav was..drinking tea leaves
    from floral china platitudes… very cool… and ….lost without ever being missed…you create such an atmosphere with such few lines…

  8. sigh…this is great love that opening stanza…and the really tranquil moment…and of course it leading into poetry…love moments like that…smiles…

  9. and started to write them all down…what else can you do with muse, but flatter her, lipstick stained coffee cup and all. Thought this just a wonderful pen! Write on, Poetess!

  10. Wonderful – Abi – write it all down πŸ™‚ I love the china cups … and the words twittering … may the words twitter forever πŸ™‚

  11. Write it all down..sometimes we find our soul in writing ~

    You found mine, a piece of jigsaw
    lost without ever being missed.

  12. This is one gorgeous poem, Abi…I love that oh so lonely, sad line about being lost but not missed. And many others. A truly beautiful write. :))