Fragile

Not as I imagined
Quietly held like raindrops
Surface tension snapping on impact

I felt the pain
Contained and educated
Holding back the primal rage

I smelt the fear
Seeping from the stance
As you turned your back on time

I tasted the worry
In the blood crimson drops
A fine wine from strong aged oak

I saw the heart
With ashes glowing still
Fragile beneath the mirror surface

 

Entered in OpenLinkNight @dVersePoets on 03/01/11 http://dversepoets.com/

15 responses to “Fragile

  1. “I tasted the worry in the crimson drops a fine wine from strong aged oak” this is not fragile writing…vivid and strong…and the first stanza hooks with its message of fragility. Though the poem sends a message about what is fragile, the language is vivid and sturdy. Is it the start of the new year that is fragile. Whatever it is, nice work!

  2. A very powerful poem and I agree with Jackie, that to be fragile is actually to be strong. A defence of denial is after all, only fake strength. My favourite stanza is the third one. Lovely writing, Abigail.

  3. Simply beautiful ~ & wonderfully constructed. You have opened the skin of this poem & shown us the beating heart: so vulnerable & yet so resilient ~*

  4. really some great imagery in this…glad the ashes are still glowing inside that heart…and what is it you see in the mirrored surface? smiles.

  5. I felt the pain
    Contained and educated
    Holding back the primal rage

    The desire to control our emotions is so intense…to let the primal rage flow would be so dangerous. Beautiful words. The full range of emotion.

  6. Contained and educated
    Holding back the primal rage – my favorite lines and ones I can definitely relate to. It is hard to hold back at times.

Leave a Reply

