Grass

Feeling lonely now
Just me here
and
a billion blades of grass all singing my name.

Still wondering how
Just me here
and
a million rays of autumn are lighting my thoughts.

Stood beneath this bough
Just me here
and
a thousand leaves of trees all rustling in my ears.

Fields await the plough
Just me here
and
a hundred birds of the woodland are hiding from my eyes.

Clouds gather on the brow
Just me here
and
a small herd of Roe deer all startled at my surprise.

Still smiling now
Just me here
on
this crowded planet so oblivious to my presence.

7 responses to “Grass

  1. This reflects so well this impression nature often leaves: We feel as a part of it, but it doesn’t care. The nature of nature šŸ˜‰ But we won’t let you fall into oblivion : )

  2. Very tranquil and solemn. Wonderful expression:

    “Still smiling now
    Just me here
    on
    this crowded planet so oblivious to my presence.”

    Thanks for this controlled exposure to your poetic skills.

  3. I really like the structure of the verses and the words used are beautifully put together.

    Reminds me of a Pablo Neruda poem, “Keeping Quiet”, really excellent work.

    Great poem.

    • Thank you so much for such a lovely comment!

      Sometimes I get disheartened feeling my poetry isn’t good enough, but comments like yours make sharing worth while!

      Abi šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

