Crisis

Admiration sweeps in deceptively,
a tidal wave crashing down,
tearing this delicate scab
of confidence in words.

Thoughts jumbled, left in disarray;
the entrails of creation spilt
across imagination’s page
blocking the way forward.

I look for my horizon light
but its gone, as if snuffed out
by this momentary crisis,
drowned by tears yet to form.

Yet when my thoughts finally slow
darkness gives way to silver grey,
blind panic dulls to ache.
I wait for the lesson to take hold.

What possible superlative compliment
could such a wretched mind narrate?
To fall back on old favourites?
Stay running in the same rut?

No longer, please forgive my silence,
I rebuke these insidious emotions!
Growing stronger from each fall
I rise to stand in the surf
and face you, smiling.

17 responses to “Crisis

  1. Great write Abi ~ I’m pretty sure I’ve been in such a ‘crisis’ *smiles* and it takes a lot to work through & get the confidence back. I love the last line ‘I rise to stand in the surf and face you, smiling’ ~ lovely 🙂

  2. Most people have been there, but no matter what comes we must utter your last lines rising and facing it, not much else one can do. Very nice write.

  3. it is adversity that often births greatness within us…cration breaking across imagination page…i like that…very nice..and i like the new look as well…

  4. Great descriptive image of crisis – sounds like you have endured a few

    Being buffeted by life can be painful

  5. I really like that imagry of confidence as a scab. The poem is filled with wonderful imagry about seeking and growing stronger thru a crisis. Honest and powerful…

  6. “…Growing stronger from each fall
    I rise to stand in the surf
    and face you, smiling.”

    Yes! It’s not what knocks us down, but how we get back up. Wonderful write!

  7. Your reference to the pernicious aspect within ourselves is what most moved me in this poem:

    I look for my horizon light
    but its gone, as if snuffed out
    by this momentary crisis,
    drowned by tears yet to form

    How often do we put out our own lights through the expression of our suffering? Thank you for sharing.

  8. You said WOW and I say WOW, “Crisis” is a really powerful poem, Abi, and the ending describes such strength coming out of the triumph of coming through it. Love it.

  9. A very powerful poem, Abi, which effectively captures that space between emotions that aren’t one thing or the other, but still their effects are deeply felt. Rebuke away! Beautifully done!

Leave a Reply

